Valley Press Staff Writer

Media rock music fanatics converged Wednesday night at the Rainbow Bar and Grill in Los Angeles to pay respects to heavy metal/rock band Motörhead, in the form of a VIP release party for their upcoming box set, “1979,” to be released on Oct. 25.

The Rainbow Bar and Grill has been a staple on the Sunset Strip since 1972, attracting countless legendary rock musicians. It was one of Motörhead front-man/bassist Lemmy Kilmister’s favorite hangouts for over 20 years.

For a few hours, alcoholic beverages flowed, Motörhead music blasted through bar speakers and live footage and interviews from the band and friends of the group played on multiple television screens. Two different areas in the upstairs bar, which was packed elbow-to-elbow displayed each item of the box set, which included 40th anniversary remastered versions of their 1979 albums “Bomber” and “Overkill,” as well as two live albums from previously unheard concerts from ’79 at Le Mans, France and Aylesbury Friars, in Aylesbury, U.K.

Also included are:

• A 40-page period-accurate “music magazine” featuring unseen photos and fresh interviews regarding the era,

• The “Rest of ’79 Vinyl,” featuring B-sides, outtakes and rare tracks

• “No Class” 7” single with gate-fold art

• The “Bomber” tour program

• “Overkill” sheet music book

• ’79 badge set

All of it is encased in a black biker jacket box.

Motörhead, formed in June 1975, carved their name into rock music history books as a precursor to the “new wave” of British heavy metal that re-invigorated heavy metal in the 1970s-80s. Having released 22 studio albums, 12 compilations and five EPs over 40 years, Motörhead, now defunct, following the 2015 deaths of Kilmister and Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor, were known just as much for their pulverizing live performances as they were for their prolific output.

1979 was an important year for Motörhead, as they released two albums, which gave the band their first taste of commercial success. They also completed headlining tours and played the Tops of the Pops, which stunned and amazed television viewers around the world, for no one had seen Motörhead’s brand of rock ‘n roll, which was an aggressive, in-your-face blend of punk, rock and heavy metal that helped spawn thrash metal and countless bands from the past, present and future.

While the rehashing of a band’s catalog following disbandment has become commonplace, “1979” is far more that an exploitation of music. The project is a gesture of love and respect, having been sanctioned by the estates of late members Kilmister, “Fast” Eddie Clarke (guitar, occasional lead vocals) and Taylor (drums.)

Pre-orders are available now for the “1979” box set for $152.

A price-friendly option for the 40th anniversary reissues of “Bomber” and “Overkill” on 180 gram vinyl are available for $40-$50.

A super deluxe edition box-set is also available for $300, which includes a faux leather jacket that actually unzips (limited to 500 copies), the “deluxe edition” goodies and more.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.