Officials have extended the deadline to June 10 for residents to apply to serve on the Los Angeles County commission that oversees changes to local government boundaries.

Applications are being sought for the Alternate Public Member position on the Local Agency Formation Commission for the County of Los Angeles. The seat’s remaining term of office expires on May 4, 2020. The full term of office is four years, with no restrictions against the incumbent seeking re-appointment.

The nine-member commission is charged with providing for orderly formation and growth of cities and special districts. LAFCO reviews and holds public hearings on proposals for boundary changes for the 88 cities and 89 special districts in Los Angeles County. The commission is also responsible for preparing and adopting reviews of the cities and special districts, and determining and periodically updating their spheres of influence.

The commission consists of nine regular members and six alternate members. The members include representatives from the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, the San Fernando Valley, the City of Los Angeles and the other 87 cities and independent special districts in Los Angeles County.

The Public Member and Alternate Public Member are appointed by the other eight commissioners.

The Public Member is a regular member of the commission and represents the general public. The Alternate Public Member serves and votes in place of the Public Member when the Public Member is absent.

Applicants must be residents of L.A. County. Officers, employees and appointees of Los Angeles County or any city or district with territory in the county are prohibited from serving as the Alternate Public Member. This restriction applies at the time of appointment, meaning applicants whose application indicates an intent to resign or retire prior to final appointment from any prohibited office, employment or appointment may still be considered by the commission.

The commission meets at 9 a.m. on the second Wednesday of each month at Los Angeles County’s Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration in Los Angeles. Meetings typically last 30 to 60 minutes, but have gone as long as three hours.

Commissioners are paid $150 a meeting, plus mileage at the IRS reimbursement rate, which is 53 cents a mile.

The application form is available via the LAFCO website ( or the LAFCO office located at 80 South Lake Avenue, Suite 870, Pasadena, California 91101. p.m. on June 10.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.